top of page

Does anyone fancy a butterbeer?

You can't deny the charm of having a mug just for butterbeer. I originally made a set of two of these for my sister's bar cart. They were simple and pretty inexpensive but looked oh so cool. When I gave them to her I also had a recipe for butterbeer that we tried. It was uh.... super sweet. Here's the recipe card, the recipe itself along with a few other versions was from liquor.com.

So lets make a set! First run to Hobby lobby, everything you need is there! Depending on how savvy you are, it could cost as low as $13 for 2 mugs.

SHOPPING LIST:

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Tape off a box. Mine was about 1 inch high and the length of the flat side of the mug.

  2. Tape a guideline to align the letters. This is temporary piece that will simply act as a baseline for your letters.

  3. Mark the center of the box on the tape. You will use this as a guide to where middle "ER" will go.

  4. Start applying the letters. Use tweezers for accuracy and lightly place the letters. Once they are all on there and in their correct spot, press them down.

  5. Remove guide tape. Go over the tape with your fingernail to make sure its sealed against the glass.

  6. Apply the etching creme. Apply lightly with a brush, make sure it's nice and thick. Make it as even as possible. Don't get it on your skin or counter top.

  7. Wait 10 minutes.

  8. Wash off in the sink. Peel the letters off and then give the mug a good cleaning.

  9. Fill with butterbeer and enjoy!

A finished butterbeer mug

Save

Save

Yes, I was an art major. But guess what!? You can still do all of these projects yourself! I believe in you.

I grew up in a very creative and "I can do it myself" type family. We were the ones that went to craft fairs and said "Why buy it when I can just go home and make it?" Here are a few of my favorite projects...

TAGS

No tags yet.
bottom of page